POST Online Media Lite Edition


EU removes Canada, Tunisia and Georgia from safe list, allows Singapore

Christian Fernsby |
The European Union decided to remove Canada, Tunisia and Georgia from its list of countries whose residents should be allowed to visit the bloc amid the coronavirus pandemic, according to an EU official familiar with the matter.

Article continues below


The EU also opted to reopen its borders to travellers from Singapore as a result of improved virus trends there, the official said on the condition of anonymity because the deliberations in Brussels were confidential.

The U.S. will remain blacklisted along with most other countries.

The changes are the first in more than two months to the EU’s recommended travel “white list,” shrinking it from 11 foreign nations at present to nine.

The other eight are Australia, China, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand and Uruguay.

What to read next

Singapore’s first brain bank will study neurological disorders
Tunisia announces 3,137 new coronavirus cases
WHO publishes list of bacteria for which new antibiotics are urgently needed