POST Online Media Lite Edition


Netherlands holds UN Security Council presidency for March

Staff Writer |
Netherlands will officially hold the United Nations Security council (UNSC) presidency for March replacing Kuwait.

Article continues below

Permanent representative of Netherlands to the UN, ambassador Karel J.G. van Oosterom, will hold a press briefing this evening to share the council programs of work for the month.

The UN body has 15 members, and each member has one vote, the permanent members of the council known as the "Permanent Big Five", including China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

The ten non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly including Netherlands, Sweden, Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Cote d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Poland and Peru.

The Security Council is one of the six main organs of the UN, which also include the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, the International Court of Justice and the UN Secretariat.

All six organs were established in 1954, after the UN was founded.

What to read next

Bulgaria takes over revolving EU presidency
U.S. satisfaction with security rises
Peru expels North Korea ambassador