POST Online Media Lite Edition


Thailand to lift entry ban on arrivals from African countries

Christian Fernsby |
Thailand’s Centre for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) approved a new round of relaxed entry measures for international arrivals to Thailand.

Article continues below

Topics: THAILAND    

Thailand is reopening 3 more Sandbox destinations – Krabi, Phang-Nga, and Surat Thani (only Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao) from 11 January, 2022 – in addition to Phuket.

From 11 January, 2022, international travellers will be able to travel to Thailand under the Sandbox programme, and can choose to undergo their mandatory 7-day stay in either Krabi, Phang-Na, Phuket, or Surat Thani (only Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao).

However, all travellers must make sure that they arrange everything in order before applying for the Sandbox Thailand Pass. This can include, but not limited to, a vaccination certificate, a pre-arrival negative RT-PCR test result, prepaid 7-night’s accommodation in an approved hotel, prepaid RT-PCR tests for when in Thailand, and an insurance policy with coverage no less than US$50,000.

Travellers must stay at least the first 7 nights within a Sandbox destination if planning to continue the journey to other destinations in Thailand. If staying less than 7 nights, the traveller must leave Thailand to another country immediately.

Also from 11 January, 2022, the CCSA approved the lifting of travel restrictions on arrivals from African countries.

This means travellers from Africa will be allowed to apply for the Thailand Pass under either the Sandbox programme or the Alternative Quarantine system.

The CCSA also approved the measure to maintain temporary suspension of the Thailand Pass system for new registrations under the Exemption from Quarantine (TEST & GO).

What to read next

Sweden extends entry ban for third countries, drops restrictions for arrivals from U.S.
Vaccinated people travelling to Sweden from Armenia exempted from entry ban, test requirement
Sweden extends ban on entry for countries outside EU until October 31