POST Online Media Lite Edition


Trump signs disaster declaration for Georgia, Florida, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands

Staff Writer |
President Trump signed a disaster declaration afternoon for Georgia, which is preparing for damaging winds and coastal flooding in parts of the state that are expected to be hit by Hurricane Irma.

Article continues below

The emergency declaration comes days after Trump made Florida, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, which have also been impacted by Irma, eligible for federal disaster aid.

"This action will help alleviate the hardship and suffering that the emergency may inflict on the local population, and provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures," the White House said in a statement.

Trump has asked the Federal Emergency Management Agency and Homeland Security Departments to coordinate with local authorities in Georgia as the category 4 hurricane makes its way toward the Florida Keys and Georgia coast.

What to read next

Maria potentially catastrophic as it tears through Caribbean
Maria hits U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico prepares for impact
Hurricane Irma now Category 5, aiming for Caribbean