POST Online Media Lite Edition


U.S. lifts ban on refugees from 11 'high-risk' countries

Staff Writer |
The United States lifted a ban on admissions to refugees from 11 countries that it identified present a high security risk, while announcing new vetting measures.

Article continues below

The changes came after a 90-day review by the White House of refugee admissions from the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Mali, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

Those seeking to enter the United States will undergo a risk-based assessment, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) said in a statement.

"These additional security measures will make it harder for bad actors to exploit our refugee program, and they will ensure we take a more risk-based approach to protecting the homeland," DHS secretary Kirstjen Nielsen said.

The measures include additional screening for certain nationals, and a periodic review and upAmerica refugeesof the refugee high-risk country list and selection criteria.

Last year, U.S. President Donald Trump signed a directive setting the country's annual refugee cap at 45,000, the lowest annual limit since 1980. It is one of a string of limits he imposed on the U.S. refugee program.

The United States has admitted roughly 6,500 refugees since the 2018 fiscal year began in October, compared with about 32,000 during the same period last year, according to State Department figures.

What to read next

U.S. Supreme Court allows Trump's refugee ban to proceed
German Chancellor backs UN proposal to take more refugees
Germany to send back refugees to Greece