POST Online Media Lite Edition


U.S. State Department announces new travel advisory system

Staff Writer |
State Department officials announced they've overhauled how the agency issues travel advisories for Americans abroad.

Article continues below

The new four-tiered system will officially roll out next month, Assistant Secretary of State Carl Risch told reporters Friday in Washington, D.C. A level one advisory means "exercise normal precautions," level two means "exercise increased caution," level three means "reconsider travel" and level four is "do not travel."

The department's current system uses a variety of alerts and warnings depending on the region of the world.

Risch cautioned that the level four warning would merely be an advisory warning, not an explicit ban on travel.

The State Department is still determining which nations would fall under the different classifications and Risch said some nations could have multiple warning levels on regional bases.

Department officials will determine the ratings based on criteria that may include "terrorism, civil unrest, health considerations, natural disaster... elections, sporting events, [and] other incidents that may pose safety risks," Risch said.

What to read next

Hundreds of stations unable to inspect cars in Massachusetts
NAACP to black people: Do not travel to Missouri
Portuguese health department issues travel warnings for Madagascar, Italy