POST Online Media Lite Edition


U.S. to sanction 4 countries with visa restrictions for refusing deportations

Staff Writer |
The Trump administration will impose visa sanctions on four countries that refuse to take back foreign nationals deemed to be in the U.S. illegally, Department of Homeland Security spokesman Dave Lapan said.

Article continues below

The four countries - Cambodia, Eritrea, Guinea and Sierra Leone, according to a DHS source close to the deliberations - come from a running list of countries the U.S. designates as "recalcitrant" for not accepting, or delaying, repatriation of their own citizens after the US has tried to deport them.

Citizens of the four countries identified by the administration will face visa restrictions that could prevent them from entering the U.S.

The sanctions process was triggered last week in a letter sent to the State Department by Acting DHS Secretary Elaine Duke, Lapan said.

It is up to the State Department to determine the visa restrictions' scope, and to initiate them.

In a statement, a State Department official confirmed receipt of the DHS letter.

What to read next

Russia restores electricity export to China after Far East accident
U.S. falls in many ways in U.S. News Best Countries Rankings
U.S. and UK laptop bans come into effect