POST Online Media Lite Edition


68 countries signed tax loopholes agreement. U.S. didn't

Staff Writer |
Ministers and high-level officials from 68 jurisdictions signed on June 7 a multilateral convention that will implement a series of tax treaty measures.

Article continues below

The agreement aims to update the existing network of bilateral tax treaties and reduce opportunities for tax avoidance by multinational enterprises.

The Multilateral Convention to Implement Tax Treaty Related Measures to Prevent BEPS - base erosion and profit shifting - will also strengthen provisions to resolve treaty disputes, said the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

The avenues include mandatory binding arbitration, which is hoped to reduce double taxation and increase tax certainty.

The 28 members of the European Union have signed on, including the UK, along with China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, India, Korea, Russia and Singapore.

Eight more countries expressed the intention to sign the convention, bringing the number to 76.

One notable exception: the United States, which is the only major nation to stay away.

The decision is of a piece with other moves by Donald Trump’s administration, including the US withdrawal from the Trans Pacific Partnership agreement and the Paris climate change pact.

What to read next

Emerging countries drive wage growth
EU trade scheme for developing countries from January 2014
Health workers with right skills in right places needed