POST Online Media Lite Edition


Azerbaijani-EU visa deal in force from September

Staff writer |
The agreements on visa facilitation and readmission between Azerbaijan and the European Union (EU) will enter into force from September 1, 2014, Charge D'Affaires of the EU Delegation to Azerbaijan, Toralf Pilz said.

Article continues below

"We hope that these agreements will create conditions for the further development of relations between EU and Azerbaijan and European citizens will benefit from ample opportunities for trips to the country," Mr. Pilz stressed.

Azerbaijan and EU signed a visa facilitation agreement within the EU summit in Vilnius.

The document was signed by Azerbaijan's Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov, European Commissioner Stefan Fule and Foreign Minister of Lithuania Linas Linkyavichus.

Additionally, it is required to sign bilateral agreements with the countries that are part of the Schengen area, but are not members of the EU (Norway, Switzerland, Iceland, and Liechtenstein).

What to read next

China's Macao SAR, Armenia ink visa-exemption agreement
Europe endorses EU-Peru visa waiver agreement
Azerbaijan, Russia agreed that they don't agree