POST Online Media Lite Edition


Belgium further restricts travel to several EU regions

Christian Fernsby |
Belgium has further restricted travel to several countries and zones in Europe in the latest update of the Foreign Affairs’ Department website of Friday.

Article continues below

Topics: BELGIUM   

As the National Crisis Centre announced on Friday morning, the colour codes of “a number of” countries and regions in Europe have been adapted, further restricting travel for Belgians.

From now on, travelling to Malta, several regions in Spain and almost the entire country of Romania, as well as several other regions, is no longer allowed as they have become “red travel zones.”

For Spain, travelling is no longer allowed to the autonomous regions of Aragon and Navarra, the provinces of Barcelona and Lleida ( autonomous region of Catalonia), the province of Biscay (autonomous region of the Basque Country), the province of Soria (autonomous region of Castilla y Leon).

Travelling to the regions Bucharest-Ilfov, the Centre, North-West, North-East, South-East, South-Muntenia and South-West Oltenia in Romania is also no longer allowed.

The North-East and South-West regions of Bulgaria, and Leicester in the United Kingdom are also red zones.

People returning to Belgium from one of these regions are required to be tested and quarantined.

What to read next

Germany: No travel ban for Turkey
EC approves €3.5 billion support to three offshore windfarms in Belgium
The Netherlands investing 70 million euros in intelligent transport