POST Online Media Lite Edition


Brussels warns Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Sweden against travel restrictions

Christian Fernsby |
Ιn a letter sent to Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Hungary and Sweden, the European Commission has urged the countries to respect the travel restrictions recommendations of the European Council and to align with the Union’s principles in regard to freedom of movement.

Article continues below


“The commission wants to recall to the European member states that it is a necessity to go back to a coordinated approach on all the measures taken in relation to the free movement of people and goods,” the bloc’s justice commissioner Didier Reynders said on Tuesday in a video posted on Twitter.

Despite recommendations by the Commission, the six EU countries have taken unilateral measures to curb the spread of Coronavirus.

In January, Belgium imposed a non-essential travel ban that has been extended to April 1, while earlier this month, Germany placed entry restrictions at its borders with the Czech Republic and Austria’s Tyrol.

Hungary, for its part, has kept its borders closed to almost all foreigners since summer. Finland has imposed a non-essential travel ban until February 25, while Sweden has blocked entry for those coming from the UK, Denmark and Norway. Denmark has also placed restrictions at its borders since the beginning of the pandemic.

The countries have ten days to provide the EU Executive with explanations about their ban on non-essential travel.

What to read next

Finland prolongs existing entry restrictions for another month
Finland to resume travel restrictions on Netherlands, Belgium and Andorra
Finland tightened travel restrictions for Estonia, Germany, Iceland, Norway, Slovakia and Sweden