POST Online Media Lite Edition


Caspian Sea countries adopt cooperation agreement

Staff writer |
The five countries with a Caspian Sea coastline signed their first document on cooperation in the region.

Article continues below

Presidents of Russia, Iran, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan also agreed that no armed forces of third countries should sail into the sea, Russian agency ITAR-TASS reports.

The countries are now entitled to extract bio-resources up to 25 nautical miles (46.3 km) off their coasts.

Despite some expectations, however, Turkmenistan and Azerbaijan failed to agree in the Russian city of Astrakhan on the project to construct a Trans-Caspian pipeline allowing direct supplies from Turkmenistan to Europe for the first time.

Caspian Sea countries have been at odds about the basin's status and their respective spheres of economic activity there for nearly two decades.

What to read next

Ghana and Denmark sign double taxation agreement
Iran, Russia sign MoU on customs cooperation
Iran, neighbors to accelerate railway cooperation