POST Online Media Lite Edition


Eight countries back Ukraine's demand free trade with Russia

Staff writer |
EU, U.S., Canada, Australia, Japan, Turkey, Switzerland and South Korea have backed Ukraine's demand to lift all restrictions in trade and provide for free transit of goods by the Russian Federation.

Article continues below

Trade Representative of Ukraine - Deputy Minister of Economic Development and Trade Natalia Mykolska announced that.

"Ukraine's position is backed by the EU, U.S., Canada, Australia, Japan, Turkey, Switzerland, South Korea," she wrote on her Twitter page on April 15.

Mykolska said that the restrictions of Ukrainian exports and transit by Russia were discussed at a meeting of the Council for Trade in Goods of the World Trade Organization (WTO) in Geneva on April 15.

The Russian government from January 1, 2016 imposed restrictions on transit of cargos from Ukraine to Kazakhstan across its territory: cargos are to go via Belarus (only two checkpoints on the Belarusian and Russian border and three checkpoints on the Russian and Kazakh border).

What to read next

Ukraine complains to WTO over Russian ban on transit of goods
Ukraine suggests free trade zone to Egypt
Ukraine to lose $1 billion due to Russian restrictions in 2016