POST Online Media Lite Edition


EU reduces fishing quotas for 10 states

Staff writer |
The European Commission (EC) has decided to sanction Spain and nine other Member States for exceeding their fishing quota, and reduce their fishing opportunities for 2014.

Article continues below

This measure is intended to repair the damage caused to resources and in this way ensure the sustainable capture of resources. The EC highlighted that quota deductions were reduced by 22 percent.

The sanctioned Member States are: Spain, Belgium, Denmark, Greece, France, Ireland, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal and the UK. In the case of Spain, the fleet will be punished with a reduction of 555 tonnes for exceeding the fishing quotas for various species in 2013.

What to read next

EU member states approve cutting back on emission quotas
Thailand to install GPS tracking on fishing boats
UK government pledges to obtain a fishing quota fair deal