POST Online Media Lite Edition


Norway asked to join former Soviet trade bloc

Staff writer |
The Eurasian Economic Union (EEU), which brings together post-Soviet states, invited Norway to become a member.

Timur Suleimenov, Minister of Economy and Financial Policy for the EEU, told Norway's Finansavisen newspaper that the organisation would welcome Norway's involvement.

"We would like to have Norway as a member. However, it should be emphasized that we just have made Armenia and Kyrgyzstan members, and we have no immediate plans for expansion," he said.

The EEU is an economic union of Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan formed in 2014 and by many viewed as a competitor to the EU.

It was the application by the then Ukrainian president Viktor Yanukovych to join the EEU as an observer, abandoning an association agreement with the European Union, which led to the massive protests on Kiev's Euromaidan square.

The protests ended with Yanukovych being ousted from the presidency, and then Russia's annexation of Crimea in March 2014.

The conflict in Ukraine has since escalated between pro-Russian insurgents and Ukrainian troops in a number of regions.

Although Norway is not a member of the EU, it is a member of the European Economic Area and a Nato member.

Norway has along with countries in the EU imposed economic sanctions on Russia in the wake of the Ukrainian crisis.

What to read next

Ukraine says good-bye to EU, hello to Russia
Pacific Alliance to open trade talks with four countries
Africa's largest trading bloc resolves 80% of restrictive tariffs