POST Online Media Lite Edition


Oklahoma: Four more counties approved for federal assistance after floods, storms

Christian Fernsby |
Governor Kevin Stitt announced that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved the state's request for disaster assistance for four more Oklahoma counties impacted by flooding, tornadoes, severe storms and straight-line winds.

Article continues below

The disaster assistance benefits individuals and business owners affected by severe storms that have occurred since May 7 in Cherokee, Le Flore, Noble and Nowata counties.

Canadian, Creek, Delaware, Kay, Logan, Mayes, Muskogee, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Payne, Pottawatomie, Rogers, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner, and Washington counties have already been approved for Individual Assistance.

The designation makes available federal assistance for housing repairs or temporary housing, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs.

FEMA did not approve three counties included in the state’s request for aid: Beaver, Custer and Seminole. It is important that homeowners, renters and business owners in Beaver, Custer and Seminole counties contact FEMA to report their damages in order to provide data that will guide the state in its next steps to help these communities.

What to read next

Storms and earthquakes drive losses to $70 billion
Increase in storms could have catastrophic impact on fishing industry
U.S. home prices rise three times faster than rents