POST Online Media Lite Edition


Peru joins CPTPP, most ambitious agreement in world

Staff Writer |
Peru and the other 10 remaining Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) members wrapped up negotiations on a new Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for the Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP), Foreign Trade and Tourism Minister Eduardo Ferreyros informed.

Article continues below

This trade agreement involves 11 countries from the Asia-Pacific region: Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Mexico, Malaysia, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Viet Nam.

"We have reached the most ambitious and important agreement in the world," Ferreyros pointed out.

Likewise, he highlighted this negotiation constitutes a key step to consolidate the country's presence in the world and —especially— in the Asia-Pacific region.

The cabinet member held meetings with his counterparts from the aforementioned nations in Da Nang (Viet Nam) last November to establish CPTPP's main terms.

What to read next

Delaware and Peru signed a cooperation agreement
Peru and Indonesia to negotiate free trade agreement
World Bank: Peru did excellent job