POST Online Media Lite Edition


Twelve countries to discuss expanding TPP to more nations

Staff writer |
Twelve countries that reached a Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) deal last October will discuss the possible participation of newcomers in the regional trade bloc.

Article continues below

The 12 countries, which account for some 40 percent of the world’s gross domestic product, will hold a ministerial meeting on the sidelines of the signing ceremony of the TPP treaty in Auckland on February 4, said sources with access to the TPP negotiations.[break]

At the two-day ministerial meeting on February 3 and 4, the 12 countries will start full-fledged discussions on possible TPP expansion, bearing in mind early participation by South Korea and Taiwan, according to the sources.

The meeting will cover the treatment of countries and regions that hope to join the TPP treaty after it comes into force.

Participation after the treaty comes into effect would require approval by all 12 members. Hoping to join the treaty early, South Korea and Taiwan have started preparations, including bilateral talks with some members.

Among other Asian countries, the Philippines, Thailand and Indonesia have expressed their willingness to join the TPP.

At the ministerial meeting, the 12 nations will also discuss whether to set up a secretariat for the treaty, according to the sources.

Currently, New Zealand, a key participant in the Pacific Four deal, the predecessor of the TPP, serves as working-level coordinator among the 12 countries.

What to read next

TPP nations to sign free-trade deal in early February
Russia ready to discuss freezing oil production
ESCAP strengthens collaboration with North and Central Asia