POST Online Media Lite Edition


UK is finally out: British Parliament approves Boris Johnson's Brexit

Christian Fernsby |
The House of Commons of the British Parliament approved the bill for the country's exit from the European Union.

Article continues below


358 MPs voted in favour of the law involving the EU-agreed deal on the terms of the divorce. 234 voted against.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson's conservatives received a comfortable majority in the House of Commons.

That is why the Prime Minister decided to submit the bill on the second day after the new parliament was formed.

Confidence in the positive outcome of the vote allowed Boris Johnson to toughen the bill, including a ban on extending the transition period after Brexit, which expires on December 31, 2020.

At this point, Britain and the European Union will continue to exist as if Brexit won't happen.

During these months, the parties intend to negotiate their future trade relations.

According to the text of the Brexit Agreement reached in October, the transitional period could be extended once, but for no more than two years.

Many British experts believe that a few months will not be enough for London and Brussels to conclude a free trade agreement.

The government expects the bill to be agreed by both Houses of Parliament and signed by Queen Elizabeth I in the coming weeks, which will allow Britain to leave the EU within the deadline.

What to read next

British pound falls as lawmakers rule out delayed Brexit
Brexit reversal would be disaster, says Boris Johnson
Boris Johnson quits as UK foreign secretary