POST Online Media Lite Edition


Vietnam waives visa for five European countries

Staff writer |
Vietnam will waive the need for tourist visas for five more European countries in a bid to boost its ailing tourism industry.

Article continues below

Under a decision by Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung that was posted on the government's website, visitors from the UK, Germany, France, Italy and Spain will not need a visa to visit Vietnam starting in July if they stay up to 15 days.

The decision was welcome by tour operators. Last year, nearly 8 million foreigners visited Vietnam.

Currently, Vietnam gives reciprocal visa exemptions to nine countries in ASEAN, or the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, and unilaterally waives visas for visitors from four Nordic countries, Russia, Belarus, Japan and South Korea

What to read next

Visa-free travel to EU for 19 countries
E-visa for India to be announced for 43 countries
Myanmar, Indonesia pledge to increase trade to $1 billion