POST Online Media Lite Edition


Vesicular stomatitis in Colorado holds steady in 35 counties

Christian Fernsby |
Cases of vesicular stomatitis (VSV) have been identified in the following 35 Colorado counties.

Article continues below


Those are: Adams, Alamosa, Arapahoe, Archuleta, Boulder, Broomfield, Chaffee, Conejos, Delta, Dolores, Douglas, Eagle, El Paso, Fremont, Garfield, Gilpin, Grand, Gunnison, Jefferson, La Plata, Larimer, Las Animas, Mesa, Mineral, Montezuma, Montrose, Morgan, Ouray, Park, Pueblo, Rio Blanco, San Miguel, Summit, Teller, and Weld.

There are currently 18 quarantines remaining in 13 counties.

Although the majority of quarantines have been released, many horse and livestock movements are still impacted by VSV import requirements in other states.

Many states have very stringent import requirements; for example, animals within 10 miles of a VSV quarantined premises in the previous 30, 60, or 90 days may not enter their state.

Accredited veterinarians must ensure that horses and livestock meet the import requirements of destination states.

Veterinarians can contact the State Veterinarian’s Office at 303-869-9130 with questions regarding health certificates.

The first case of VSV in Colorado was reported on July 3, 2019, in Weld County by a field veterinarian from the State Veterinarian’s Office at the Colorado Department of Agriculture.

An incursion of VSV-infected insect vectors is the likely source of infection.

There are no USDA approved vaccines for VSV.

What to read next

New vesicular stomatitis in Utah, several premises in quarantine
Colorado: Vesicular stomatitis cases confirmed in 35 counties
Vesicular stomatitis confirmed in 32 counties across Colorado