POST Online Media Lite Edition


NEWLY REPORTED COVID-19 CASES IN LAST 24 HOURS (8.2.2021, 10:13am CEST, WHO):   India 40,134    Brazil 37,582    Russia 22,804    France 23,381    The United Kingdom 25,754    Turkey 22,332    Argentina 10,356    Columbia 9,029    Italy 6,509    Iran 32,511    Germany 2,097    Mexico 18,809    South Africa 12,418    Peru 2,099    The Netherlands 2,983    Iraq 9,394    Chile 1,171    Philippines 8,735    Malaysia 17,150    Pakistan 5,026    Portugal 2,590    Japan 10,063    Israel 3,464    Jordan 1,041    United Arab Emirates 1,519    Morocco 6,189    Tunisia 2,651    Lebanon 1,147    Saudi Arabia 1,084    Greece 2,752    Ecuador 1,699    Panama 1,195    Georgia 2,654    Cuba 9,747    Venezuela 1,040    Ireland 1,427    Libya 4,322    Kenya 1,259    South Korea 1,215    Algeria 2,724    Mongolia 1,063    Vietnam 7,447    Mozambique 2,078    Zimbabwe 1,370    Rwanda 3,141    Senegal 1,045    China 115    Singapore 121    New Zealand 4    Australia 257   

Cyprus adds Chinese Sinopharm to list of approved vaccines

Christian Fernsby |
Cyprus on Thursday added the Chinese Sinopharm vaccine to the list of approved vaccines accepted for free entry of vaccinated people into the country, the Ministry of Transport, Communications and Works said in a statement.

Article continues below

According to the statement, accepted vaccination certificates for entry into Cyprus without conditions "are those that certify that the holders have completed their vaccination regimen with one of the approved vaccines, such as those of the EMA (European Pharmaceutical Agency), or Russia's Sputnik V or China's Sinopharm vaccine."

It added that the vaccination certificates must have been issued by European Union member states, members of the European Economic Area, Israel, Russia, the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Britain, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Serbia, Qatar, Bahrain, the United States, Armenia, Georgia, Canada, or Kuwait.

The statement, which was issued after a meeting of the Council of Ministers, said passengers must meet different time frames between the completion of their vaccination and the date of travel.

The EMA approved vaccines are Pfizer, AstraZeneca, Moderna and Johnson & Johnson.

What to read next

UAE commences COVID-19 vaccine production with Hayat-Vax rollout
New mechanism by which live vaccines induce immunity
Hungary as first in EU starts using China's coronavirus vaccine