POST Online Media Lite Edition


Nasa and partners chose crew members for missions in 2017

Staff writer |
Nasa and its International Space Station (ISS) partners have announced the crew members for missions to the orbiting laboratory in 2017.

Article continues below

The selection includes first-time space flyers Nasa astronauts Mark Vande Hei and Jack Fischer.

The Expedition 51 and 52 crews will continue important research that advances Nasa's journey to Mars while making discoveries that can benefit all of humanity.

With adequate funding and technical progress on Nasa's Commercial Crew Program, astronauts Vande Hei and Fischer are expected to be at the station during the first test flights of the Boeing CST-100 and SpaceX's Crew Dragon spacecraft, targeted for 2017.

Both Vande Hei and Fischer are members of Nasa’s 2009 Astronaut Class. Vande Hei will be the first to fly, when he and Roscosmos cosmonauts Alexander Misurkin and Nikolai Tikhonov, also a first-time flyer, launch in March 2017.

The three will join the station’s Expedition 51 crew of Nasa astronaut Peggy Whitson, ESA (European Space Agency) astronaut Thomas Pesquet, and cosmonaut Oleg Novitskiy of Roscosmos.

Fischer’s mission will begin in May 2017, when he and his crewmates Fyodor Yurchikin of Roscosmos and Paolo Nespoli of ESA will join Vande Hei, Misurkin and Tikhonov on the station for Expedition 52.

The crew comprising Expedition 51 will be:

Peggy Whitson, Nasa
Oleg Novitskiy, Roscosmos
Thomas Pesquet, ESA
Mark Vande Hei, Nasa
Alexander Misurkin, Roscosmos
Nikolai Tikhonov, Roscosmos
The crew comprising Expedition 52 will be:

Mark Vande Hei, Nasa
Alexander Misurkin, Roscosmos
Nikolai Tikhonov, Roscosmos
Jack Fischer, Nasa
Paolo Nespoli, ESA
Fyodor Yurchikin, Roscosmos.

What to read next

NASA calls on SpaceX to send astronauts to ISS
New crew to stay on International Space Station until next spring
Russia and U.S. to build moon's space station on way to Mars