POST Online Media Lite Edition


Biden approves Emergency Disaster Declaration for New York

Christian Fernsby |
Governor Kathy Hochul announced that President Biden has approved an Emergency Disaster Declaration for New York.

Article continues below

That is following the devastation caused by Tropical Depression Ida and its unprecedented, historic rainfall. The counties covered by the declaration include: Bronx, Dutchess, Kings, Nassau, New York, Orange, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, and Westchester.

Under an Emergency Declaration, up to $5 million in federal funding is made available to impacted counties to support ongoing response and rescue operations prior to issuance of a traditional Major Disaster Declaration.

Governor Hochul also announced that at her request, FEMA will work with the State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services, as well as local partners to begin an expedited damage assessment process, which is required for a Major Disaster Declaration, on September 3.

At Governor Hochul's direction, State agencies' emergency response assets are on the ground helping local partners with cleanup and restoration efforts.