POST Online Media Lite Edition


Cuomo declares state of emergency for eight counties impacted by Lake Ontario flooding

Christian Fernsby |
New York Governor Cuomo declared a State of Emergency for the eight counties impacted by potential Lake Ontario flooding: Cayuga, Jefferson, Monroe, Niagara, Orleans, Oswego, St. Lawrence and Wayne.

Article continues below

The Governor's order directs state agencies to protect State property and to assist local governments and individuals in responding to and recovering from the flooding.

The Governor also directed the Commissioner of the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation to implement a 5 mile per hour speed limit, where the Commissioner finds it appropriate, to control wakes along the Lake Ontario shoreline in the affected counties as part of the state's ongoing response to coastal flooding in the region.

Vessels operating within 1,000 feet of shore, unless otherwise directed by a County Declaration, must observe a 5 mile per hour speed limit to reduce impacts to shoreline residences and infrastructure caused by wave action and to promote safe boating.

The no wake zone does not apply to communities along the St. Lawrence River.

What to read next

New York State prepares for summer floods with emergency dam system
Rain and floods: State of emergency for parts of New York
Historic flooding to continue for weeks in U.S.