POST Online Media Lite Edition


Cyprus bans flights from 28 countries from March 21

Christian Fernsby |
Cyprus yesterday announced a two week ban on flights from 28 countries, including Britain and Greece, to curb the coronavirus outbreak.

Article continues below

Topics: CYPRUS    BAN    FLIGHTS   

The measure will come into effect from 0100 GMT on March 21 for a 14 day period, an official statement said. It does not affect cargo flights.

The island has already enacted stringent entry requirements, effective from March 16, barring anyone into the island, including Cypriots, without a medical certificate that they are clear of coronavirus. Those who do arrive are placed in compulsory quarantine in a government supervised facility for two weeks.

The east Mediterranean island has reported 49 cases of coronavirus.

What to read next

Wuhan coronavirus: Carriers suspending flights to South Korea
Cyprus claims violations of its airspace by Turkish fighter jets
Diesel driving bans to hit 1st German city