POST Online Media Lite Edition


Morocco suspends flights with 13 European countries

Christian Fernsby |
Morocco on Friday suspended all flights to and from 13 additional European counties to curb the spread of the new COVID-19 variants, the Moroccan National Airport Office (ONDA) said in a statement.

Article continues below

Topics: MOROCCO    EUROPE   

The list includes Albania, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, and Slovenia.

The suspension is temporary, and concerns also the entry of passengers of these countries arriving through other countries, it added. Previously, the North African country has suspended flights with more than 40 countries until May 21.

Morocco is witnessing an increase in COVID-19 cases for the fourth consecutive week with the registration of more contagious variants. It has decided to maintain a strict night curfew since Wednesday, the beginning of the fasting month, Ramadan.

As of Thursday, the tally of COVID-19 infections in Morocco has reached 504,260, with 8,927 deaths and 490,366 recoveries.

Meanwhile, 4,554,000 people have received so far the first vaccine shots against COVID-19 in the country, and 4,174,449 people have received the second doses.

Morocco launched a nationwide vaccination campaign on January 28 after the arrival of the first shipment of China's Sinopharm vaccines.

What to read next

Spain grants Morocco 33.6 million USD to curb illegal immigration
Morocco suspends flights with France and Spain
Wuhan coronavirus: Carriers suspending flights to South Korea