POST Online Media Lite Edition


U.S. allows flights only to Havana, all other cities banned

Christian Fernsby |
U.S. Department of State said that the United States would ban U.S. airlines from flying to all Cuban international airports except the international airport in Havana starting from December to further pressure the Cuban government.

Article continues below

Topics: U.S.       CUBA    HAVANA    BAN   

Scheduled air service between the United States and Cuban international airports other than Havana's Jose Marti International Airport would be barred in 45 days, the State Department said in a statement.

This move aims to prevent the Cuban government from profiting from U.S. air travel, the statement added.

According to U.S. media, the United States will suspend scheduled flights from various U.S. cities to nine destinations in Cuba, including Santa Clara, Santiago, and Holguin.

Cuban Foreign Minister Bruno Rodriguez condemned the U.S. move on Twitter, saying it "strengthens U.S. citizens' travel ban; mutilates U.S. people liberties & damages people-to-people contacts."

"But they won't extract any concession from us. We shall overcome!" Rodriguez wrote.

The U.S.-Cuba relationship has deteriorated under the administration of U.S. President Donald Trump, who has rolled back the detente initiated by his predecessor Barack Obama.

What to read next

Havana struggles to recover from deadly tornado
Vienna tops world's most livable cities
Bali flights halted as Mt. Agung volcano erupts again