POST Online Media Lite Edition


Cambodia extends ban on visitors from U.S., Iran, 4 European countries

Christian Fernsby |
Cambodia on Thursday extended a ban on foreign travelers from the United States, Iran, and four European countries in a bid to stem the spread of the coronavirus, according to a foreign ministry's letter.

Article continues below

Topics: CAMBODIA    BAN    U.S.    IRAN    EUROPE   

In the letter to the ambassadors, consul-generals, and honorary consults of Cambodia to foreign countries, Foreign Ministry secretary of state Sea Kosal told them to extend the ban on foreigners coming to Cambodia from the United States, Iran, Italy, Germany, Spain, and France until further notice.

He added that entry restrictions for all foreigners to Cambodia also remain in effect until there is a new notice.

"Above-mentioned measures of travel restrictions are temporary and must be continued to implement until the Ministry of Health and the World Health Organization make a joint assessment that the situation of COVID-19 disease eases," he said.

Cambodia has banned entry of foreign visitors from the six countries since mid-March and has imposed entry restrictions for all foreigners since March 30.

In its entry restrictions, any foreigner wishing to travel to Cambodia must provide a medical certificate issued by competent health authorities of his/her country, certifying that he/she is not tested positive for the COVID-19.

Also, he/she must provide proof of his/her insurance policy that shows minimum medical coverage during his/her intended stay in Cambodia in the amount not less than 50,000 U.S. dollars.

The Southeast Asian country has so far recorded a total of 122 confirmed cases of the virus, with 98 patients cured, said a Ministry of Health statement on Thursday.

What to read next

Zarif: US blocks purchase of food, medicines to Iran
China, Cambodia ink deal to boost tourism
U.S. further squeezes Iran by sanctions on metal sectors