POST Online Media Lite Edition


Canada: Minister Ng signs new trade and gender arrangement with Chile and New Zealand

Christian Fernsby |
Mary Ng, Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade, hosted a virtual meeting with the members of the Inclusive Trade Action Group (ITAG): Andrés Allamand, Chile’s Minister of Foreign Affairs; Rodrigo Yañez, Chile’s Vice Minister of Trade; and David Parker, New Zealand’s Minister for Trade and Export Growth.

Article continues below


The ministers signed a new Global Trade and Gender Arrangement, under which Canada, Chile, and New Zealand will work together to share best practices and promote gender equality, including in international organizations such as the World Trade Organization.

The arrangement lays out clear steps to making sure the benefits of trade and investment are more broadly shared among people in Canada and around the world.

The arrangement builds on Canada’s long standing commitment to gender equality and inclusive trade and supports the three countries’ shared commitment to building economies where everyone can succeed.

The ministers also discussed plans for ITAG’s future work and agreed to continue working together to ensure that global economic recovery includes all people and to break down barriers faced by women, Indigenous peoples, and others.

Minister Ng leads Canada’s Women Entrepreneurship Strategy, a $5-billion investment that provides access to financing, networks, and expertise to help more women start businesses, scale up, and access new markets.

This strategy, launched in 2018, has been leveraged amid coronavirus to continue providing women entrepreneurs and business owners with support.

Canada, Chile, and New Zealand are advancing inclusive trade initiatives through ITAG, established on the margins of the 2018 Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Leaders’ Summit.

What to read next

India and Chile expanded preferential trade agreement
New opportunities for Lithuania-Chile cooperation
New Zealand welcomes Chinese currency trade agreement