POST Online Media Lite Edition


Cyprus upgrades six EU countries to orange category

Christian Fernsby |
Cyprus is upgrading six EU countries and two third-party countries to the orange category for the purpose of travel, the Ministry of Health said in a statement on Monday.

Article continues below

Topics: CYPRUS   

It said that starting from June 3, Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy and Poland will be upgraded from the red to the orange category. Travelers from these countries will be allowed to enter Cyprus with a negative Polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test for coronavirus.

Canada and Kuwait, both in the red category, will also go into the orange category as of June 1. Also in the orange category are Portugal, Ireland, Finland, Romania, Norway, China, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The ministry said that the decision was made on the basis of the epidemiological data listed by the World Health Organization.

Passengers from orange category countries must take a PCR test within 72 hours prior to their departure with a negative result.

Passengers from the red category are required to take a PCR test within 72 hours prior to departure and also undergo another PCR test upon arrival in Cyprus at their own expense. They must also remain in self-isolation until the result is issued.

In all cases, passengers are required to have a CyprusFlightPass obtained 24 hours before departure.

What to read next

Greece condemns Turkey's decision to conduct drilling in Cyprus' exclusive economic zone
Cyprus to reopen airports on March 1
Cyprus updates country list ahead of airports reopening