POST Online Media Lite Edition


Estonia exempts arrivals from 8 countries from entry restrictions

Christian Fernsby |
The Estonian authorities have exempted from the entry restrictions arrivals eight European Union and Schengen Area Member States, a decision that becomes effective on February 22, Monday, and expires at the end of the last day of the month.

Article continues below

Topics: ESTONIA   

From 22 to 28 February, the restriction on the freedom of movement applies to passengers arriving from the following countries: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia*, Lithuania*, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

The infection rate of the Vatican is 0 but anyone travelling to Estonia from there through Italy is subject to the 10-day restriction on the freedom of movement.

The restriction on the freedom of movement does not apply to passengers arriving from a country with an infection rate below 150 per 100 000 inhabitants in the past 14 days: Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Iceland, Greece, Liechtenstein, Norway and Finland.

*Based on Order No 282 of the Government of Estonia, the restriction on the freedom of movement does not apply to asymptomatic people who have been on the territory of Lithuania, Latvia or Estonia in the past 10 days and have arrived to Estonia directly from Lithuania or Latvia with the following preconditions.

1) The person has taken a coronavirus test no earlier than 72 hours before their arrival in Estonia and the result is negative, or they have taken the test immediately after their arrival in Estonia and the result is negative. The passenger is required to remain in isolation while waiting for the test result.

(2) They arrive in Estonia for the purpose of working, studying or receiving health services or for family reasons or transit. Passengers arriving in Estonia for the reasons listed above are not obligated to test for coronavirus.

Passengers arriving in Estonia from the United Kingdom are subject to an additional obligation to test for COVID-19 up to 72 hours before their arrival in Estonia, and the result must be negative. The test is not compulsory for children under the age of 12. A 10-day self-isolation is also mandatory for passengers arriving from the United Kingdom.

The rule applies even in cases when the passenger has only transited through the United Kingdom on their way to Estonia. The period of self-isolation can be shortened if in addition to the first negative test, a second test taken 7 days after arrival is also negative.

According to the list of third countries included in Annex 1 of the recommendation of the Council of the European Union on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU, it is possible to travel to Estonia from Australia, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, and Thailand.

A 10-day self-isolation is mandatory for passengers arriving from countries with an infection rate above 16 people per 100 000 inhabitants in the past 14 days.

What to read next

Estonian minister happy with smaller administrative burden
China, Estonia vow more infrastructure, tourism cooperation
Ukraine in talks with Latvia, Estonia on inclusion in list of offshore zones