POST Online Media Lite Edition


Final 10 contenders named ahead of race to be next UK PM

Christian Fernsby |
The final candidates for the Tory leadership race have been confirmed, with 10 running to become the next PM.

Article continues below

Jeremy Hunt, Dominic Raab, Matt Hancock and Michael Gove are on the final list.

Conservative MPs will now take part in a series of votes to whittle the candidates down to the final two.

The two MPs will then face the wider Tory membership to decide on the next leader of their party, and the country.

Vice chairman of the party's backbench 1922 committee Dame Cheryl Gillan announced the list.

The candidates are:

Environment Secretary Michael Gove
Health Secretary Matt Hancock
Former Chief Whip Mark Harper
Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt
Home Secretary Sajid Javid
Former Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson
Former Leader of the House Andrea Leadsom
Former Work and Pensions Secretary Esther McVey
Former Brexit Secretary Dominic Raab
International Development Secretary Rory Stewart.

What to read next

U.S. PPI for final demand increases 0.3 percent in March
U.S. producer prices rose 0.5 percent in May
Russia to focus on Rosneft sale after Bashneft delay