POST Online Media Lite Edition


France lifts entry ban for EU and Schengen citizens, not for Spain and UK

Christian Fernsby |
France has lifted entry restrictions on for non-essential travel to France for citizens of the European Union and the Schengen Area countries, excluding only Spain and the former EU nation, the United Kingdom.

Article continues below

Topics: FRANCE    SPAIN    UK   

The decision has been announced in advance by the French Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs Jean-Yves Le Drian, and the Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs Christophe Castaner in a statement that noted the decision comes due to the overall favourable health situation in Europe.

It also pointed out that starting from June 15, citizens of European Union Member States, including the micro-states, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican, and the Schengen non-EU members – Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland – will be eligible to enter the territory of France without any restrictions as it has been up to now.

Yet, the government has decided to keep in place entry restrictions for Spain and the United Kingdom due to reciprocity measures.

What to read next

Bavaria slashes Bulgaria's hopes for Schengen accession
France and Netherlands don't want Romania, Bulgaria and Croatia in Schengen zone
Belarus may soon start discussing visa-free entry to Schengen zone