POST Online Media Lite Edition


France, Malta and Netherlands added to UK's 14 day quarantine list

Christian Fernsby |
People arriving in Britain from France, the Netherlands, Monaco, and Malta from Saturday will have to self isolate for 14 days in an effort to check the spread of coronavirus, British Transport Secretary Grant Shapps announced Thursday.

Article continues below


Shapps made the announcement after British Prime Minister Boris Johnson said ministers would be "absolutely ruthless" in deciding on whether to impose the measures.

The decision to add France to Britain's quarantine list will cause dismay for thousands of British holidaymakers currently in the country.

France is said to be the most popular European holiday destination after Spain, which has already been on the UK quarantine list, local media reported.

Shapps announced last Thursday that travelers returning to the country from Belgium, the Bahamas and Andorra will have to quarantine at home for 14 days from Aug. 8, citing rising coronavirus infection levels in the three countries.

What to read next

Europe approves creation of Malta Development Bank
Vietnam, Malta seek robust tie-ups
Malta to sell citizenship