POST Online Media Lite Edition


Greece to require negative coronavirus test for entry from Sweden, Spain, Belgium

Christian Fernsby |
Visitors to Greece arriving from Sweden, Belgium, Spain, the Netherlands and the Czech Republic will need proof they have tested negative for the novel coronavirus to gain entry, the government said on Monday.

Article continues below


Tightening controls after a recent spike in coronavirus infections, the government said the requirement will go into effect from August 17.

The required test cannot be older than 72 hours prior to entry.

In its daily report on Tuesday, the National Organization of Public Health (EODY) said that the total number of infections has reached 5,942. One new death was reported pushing the death toll to 214.

What to read next

Commission refers Greece to court for failure to recover state aid from Larco
Commission decides to refer Greece and Spain to the Court for not transposing EU law
President of Latvia sees Sweden as good partner