POST Online Media Lite Edition


Ireland, Denmark and Greece might be added to list of high risk countries in Latvia

Christian Fernsby |
Ireland, Denmark and Greece might be added to the list of high risk countries.

Article continues below


Arrivals from these countries will be required to spend 14 days in selfisolation, Jurijs Perevoscikovs, Director of the Department of Infectious Diseases and Prevention at the Center for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC), said in an interview to Latvian Television, cites LETA.

The new list is expected to include 23 countries, the epidemiologist said.

Commenting on the overall spread of coronavirus, Perevoscikovs said that the situation differs across countries. While in some European countries infection rates have doubled over the past month, Latvia has managed to keep the incidence at a very low level.

Perevoscikovs underlined that people returning to Latvia from abroad are currently the main source of infection.

Arrivals from foreign countries make up a third of all cases, and most other cases involve people who contract the virus from those arriving from abroad. It is therefore paramount to ensure that people spend the two weeks in self-isolation upon returning from high risk territories, the list of which is unfortunately growing by the week, Perevoscikovs said.

The CDC releases an updated list of countries and their coronavirus rates each Friday afternoon.

What to read next

Greece asked to prepare over 3bn euros additional measures
President of Latvia sees Sweden as good partner
Andris Vilks predicts pay raise and 2-2.5% inflation in Latvia