POST Online Media Lite Edition


Ireland removes Belgium, France, Luxembourg and U.S. from mandatory hotel quarantine list

Christian Fernsby |
The Minister for Health, Stephen Donnelly TD, has removed four states from the list of designated states for the purposes of mandatory hotel quarantine.

Article continues below


The states are Belgium, France, Luxembourg and United States of America.

It is a legal requirement that all travellers to Ireland must have a negative or ‘not detected’ result from a COVID-19 RT-PCR test carried out no more than 72 hours before arrival to Ireland.

In addition, it is also a legal requirement that those from non-designated countries also observe 14 days of Home Quarantine. This 14 Day period of Home Quarantine can only be shortened if you receive a not-detected RT-PCR test result taken no less than five days after arrival.

Testing is free when arranged through the Health Service Executive (HSE). Due to concerns about the new variant of COVID-19, people travelling from Great Britain are strongly advised to avail of free testing five days after arrival in Ireland, and to strictly adhere to the legal requirements for home quarantine.

See the full list of designated States here. .

What to read next

EC finds Luxembourg gave illegal tax benefits to Engie
Ireland to impose mandatory quarantine on travelers from 16 countries, regions
Ireland adds 5 countries to its mandatory quarantine list