POST Online Media Lite Edition


Lithuania allows entry for citizens from EEA, UK, Switzerland

Christian Fernsby |
Lithuanian government decided on Monday to allow arrivals of all citizens and residents of the European Economic Area (EEA), the UK, and Switzerland from now on.

Article continues below


Those who arrive from the said countries with coronavirus incidence rate above 16 cases per 100,000 inhabitants in the last 14 calendar days will have to self-quarantine for 14 days, according to a government press release.

Foreigners arriving from the countries where coronavirus incidence reaches 25 cases per 100,000 inhabitants will have to have been tested negative for the coronavirus within the last three days and comply with Lithuania's quarantine rules.

After the removal of entry restriction, the State Commander of National Emergency Operations will no longer have to update the list of safe countries, said the release.

The EEA includes the 27 European Union (EU) member states, Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway. According to the Ministry of Health, Lithuania had reported a total of 2,436 confirmed cases of coronavirus by Monday afternoon. To date, 81 people have died of the virus caused disease and 1,705 have recovered.

What to read next

South Korea interested in investing in Lithuania
New opportunities for Lithuania-Chile cooperation
Lithuania is the hottest spot for IT game producers