POST Online Media Lite Edition


New York: Biden approves request for Major Disaster Declaration

Christian Fernsby |
Governor Kathy Hochul announced President Biden approved her request for a Major Disaster Declaration for eight counties to help provide federal financial relief for local governments recovering from the flooding damage caused by Tropical Storm Fred.

Article continues below

The declaration will provide public assistance to municipalities in the counties of Allegany, Cayuga, Cortland, Lewis, Oneida, Steuben, Tioga and Yates, where more than $36.2 million in total damages were reported for publicly owned infrastructure and facilities.

Governor Hochul continues to work with FEMA and federal, state, and local partners to ensure New Yorkers get the relief that they need from several storms that impacted the State this summer.

A Major Disaster Declaration with a Public Assistance designation allows for financial assistance from the federal government to local communities so they can properly recover from flood related damages.

Through FEMA's Public Assistance program, reimbursement can be received for activities such as debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repairing and rebuilding of publicly owned infrastructure, including roads, public schools, bridges, parks, hospitals, police stations, fire houses, water and waste water treatment facilities and other public facilities.

What to read next

Biden unveils national strategy to fight raging COVID-19 pandemic
Vermont requests federal disaster declaration
Biden says COVID-19 vaccines will be widely available by the end of July