POST Online Media Lite Edition


Harold McGraw new chairman of ICC, Sunil Mittal vice-chairman

Staff writer |
Paris, France - April 22, 2013, Paris, France - International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) announces it has elected Harold McGraw III to become chairman of the International Chamber of Commerce, and Sunil Bharti Mittal to become vice-chairman, effective July 1, 2013.

Article continues below

Mr. McGraw has been the Vice-Chairman of ICC since January 2011. He is also Chairman, President and CEO of The McGraw-Hill Companies. Mr. McGraw is also Chairman of the US Council for International Business, and Chairman of the US President’s Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations.

Appointed by US President Barack Obama to the US-India CEO Forum in November 2009, Mr. McGraw also serves on the boards of United Technologies and Phillips 66, and chairs the Emergency Committee for American Trade.

Mr. McGraw joined the Company in 1980 and has held a number of positions with increasing responsibilities, including vice president, Corporate Planning; publisher, Aviation Week & Space Technology; president, McGraw-Hill Publications Company; and president, McGraw-Hill Financial Services Company.

He is current vice chairman of the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) and a former chairman of the Business Roundtable. Mr. McGraw received an M.B.A. from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania in 1976 and a B.A. from Tufts University in 1972.

Mr. Mittal is the Founder, Chairman and Group CEO of Bharti Enterprises and the Chairman of Bharti Airtel. He started his career at 18 after graduating from Punjab University in India in 1976 and founded Bharti. Mr. Mittal has been recognized with the Padma Bhushan, one of India’s highest civilian awards. He has also been conferred the LalBahadurShastri National Award for 2009. He is a member of the Prime Minister's Council on Trade & Industry.

He has served as the President of the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), the premier industry body in India (2007-08). He also serves on the Board of Directors of Unilever PLC, Unilever NV and SoftBank, Japan.

Mr. Mittal has been awarded the INSEAD Business Leader for the World Award 2011 and the NDTV Profit Business Leadership Award 2011 for "Corporate Conscience". He has earlier received the Global Economy Prize 2009 by The Kiel Institute, Germany and the US-India Business Council also honored him with the "Global Vision" Award 2008.

Mr. Mittal has received the GSM Association Chairman's Award for 2008. In 2006, he was chosen Asia Businessman of the Year by Fortune and Asia Pacific CEO of the Year by Frost & Sullivan. He has been named Business Leader of the Year by several important media houses, including The Economic Times, Business Standard, and NDTV. Sunil was the Ernst &Young Entrepreneur of the Year in 2004. He is also a member of the Academy of Distinguished Entrepreneurs, Babson College, Wellesley, Massachusetts.

He is a member of the India-US CEO Forum, the India- UK CEO Forum and India Japan Business Leaders Forum. He is also the Co-Chair of the India-Africa Business Council and the India-Sri Lanka CEO Forum, appointed by the Prime Minister of India.

He is associated with several academic institutions - member of the Executive Board of the Indian School of Business; member of the Governing Body of London Business School, member of Harvard University’s Global Advisory Council and the Dean’s Advisory Board of Harvard Business School.

Mr. Mittal has been conferred with the degree of Doctor of Civil Law (HonorisCausa) by Newcastle University, UK, Doctor of Laws (HonorisCausa) by the University of Leeds, UK, Doctor of Science (HonorisCausa) by the Indian Institute of Technology (Kharagpur) and Doctor of Science (HonorisCausa) by the GovindBallabh Pant University of Agriculture & Technology.

He is an Honorary Fellow of The Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers. He is an alumnus of Harvard Business School, USA. He was ranked among the Top 25 Philanthropists in the World in 2009 by the Barron’s Magazine. He is also a Member of the Board of Trustees of Qatar’s Education Above All Foundation, an initiative of Her Highness SheikhaMozabint Nasser.

In addition to these appointments, ICC also named five new members to the Executive Board: Esko Aho (Finland), Milos Barutciski (Canada), Frederico Curado (Brazil), Eduardo Eurnekian (Argentina), and Cherie Nursalim (Indonesia). They will also begin their terms on 1 July 2013.


Moët Hennessy: Manuel Reman new president of Maison Krug
Ÿnsect announces new organization and management
Danone appoints Antoine de Saint-Affrique as CEO
Saipem appoints Francesco Caio as CEO and general manager
Danone ousts Emmanuel Faber as chairman and CEO

What to read next

Emirates Steel appoints Gregor Müenstermann as new CEO
The McGraw-Hill Companies: Ted Smyth executive vice president, corporate affairs
Outokumpu appoints Roeland Baan as president and CEO