POST Online Media Lite Edition


Petropavlovsk reshuffles top leadership

Staff writer |
London, United Kingdom - April 30, 2015, London, United Kingdom - Petropavlovsk announced that Graham Birch, Lord Guthrie, Sir Malcolm Field, Charles McVeigh III and David Humphreys will retire as non-executive directors from April 30, 2015.

Mr. Birch was appointed to the Board in February 2010 and as Senior Non-Executive Director in January 2011. He is also a non-executive director of Hochschild Mining plc and of ETF Securities, an asset management company, and vice-chairman of Rothamsted Research.

Mr. Birch was formerly a director of BlackRock Commodities Investment Trust Plc and manager of BlackRock's World Mining Trust and Gold & General Unit Trust.

Prior to joining BlackRock, Mr. Birch worked at Mercury Asset Management, OrdMinnett/Fleming OrdMinnett and Kleinwort Benson Securities. He holds a PhD in Mining Geology from Imperial College, London.

Field Marshal the Lord Guthrie of Craigiebank GCB LVO OBE DL was appointed to the Board in 2008.

Lord Guthrie is also a director of Colt Defense LLC and a non-executive director of Gulf Keystone Petroleum Ltd. He is an independent member of the House of Lords, a board member of the Moscow School of Policy Studies, a Visiting Professor and Honorary Fellow of King's College London, Colonel of the Life Guards and Gold Stick to The Queen.

Lord Guthrie was formerly a director of NM Rothschild & Sons Limited, Chief of the Defence Staff and the Principal Military Adviser to two Prime Ministers and three Secretaries of State for Defence.

Sir Malcolm was previously a non-executive director of Aricom plc, a position he had held since 2003, and was appointed to the Board in 2009 upon the merger with Aricom plc. In addition to his role with the Group, Sir Malcolm is currently the senior independent director of Hochschild Mining plc.

Sir Malcolm served as Chairman of the Civil Aviation Authority and Chairman of Tube Lines Limited, one of the London Underground consortia. He was formerly Chief Executive Officer of WH Smith Plc. He has held non-executive directorships with numerous companies, including Scottish & Newcastle plc and Evolution Group Plc.

Mr. Humphreys was appointed to the Board in August 2011. He has a broad range of experience in the global mining industry through his work for mining companies and as a consultant and academic.

Mr. Humphreys was chief economist at Norilsk Nickel, Russia's largest mining company, from 2004 to 2008. He was previously with Rio Tinto for 18 years, the last eight of these as the company's chief economist. Prior to joining Rio Tinto, he worked for nine years in the UK government service, for six of these as an advisor on minerals policy.

The company announced that Robert Jenkins will be appointed as a Non-Executive Director.

Mr. Jenkins, a chartered accountant, has more than 20 years of Russian related investment experience. He is a partner in NorthStar Corporate Finance, which specialises in advising companies on Russia related as well as other European acquisition and financing transactions.

Mr. Jenkins is also the Senior Independent Director and Audit Committee Chairman of Ruspetro plc, an independent oil and gas production company.

Martin Smith will retire as a Director of the Company and from his role with the Company as Deputy Chief Executive.

Mr. Smith was appointed Deputy Chief Executive in December 2011, in addition to his role as Technical Director. He joined the Group's management team in 1994 on secondment from Kier International.

In 2006, Mr. Smith joined Aricom plc as Technical Director and, following Aricom's merger with the Group in 2009, he became Group Head of Technical Services, being appointed to the Board in January 2011. With over 30 years of experience in the global natural resources industry, he commenced his career as a mining engineer at Anglo-American Corporation, later leading projects for Kier International, Costain Mining and Shell International.

Alfiya Samokhvalova, Strategic Director and Head of External Communications and Dmitry Chekashkin, Chief Operating Officer will step down as Directors.

Dr. Samokhvalova was appointed to the Board as Strategic Director in January2011. In addition to this role, she is Group Head of External Communications, a position she has held since 2002.

Dr. Samokhvalova is also a non-executive director of the Russo-British Chamber of Commerce. She holds a Masters in Investment Management from CASS Business School, London, and a PhD in Economics from the Moscow International Higher Business School.

Mr. Chekashkin was appointed to the Board in May 2013. Prior to this, he held the position of Group Head of Precious Metals and sat on the Executive Committee. He is a qualified engineer and worked as Deputy General Director of Finance for two leading gold mining enterprises in the Russian Far East before joining the Group in 2003.

 LATEST MOVES FROM United Kingdom 

Helios Towers appoints Sally Ashford as director
Syncona appoints Kemal Malik as director
Petropavlovsk appoints two nonexecutive directors
Luceco appoints Pim Vervaat as senior independent director
Premier Foods appoints two independent nonexecutive directors

What to read next

Petropavlovsk appoints Sergey Ermolenko as acting CEO
Petropavlovsk appoints Andrew Vickerman as director
Petropavlovsk appoints two executives