POST Online Media Lite Edition


Telekom Malaysia CTIO Giorgio Migliarina resigns

Staff Writer |
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - February 8, 2017, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - Telekom Malaysia Berhad (TM) announced the resignation of Giorgio Migliarina as the company’s chief technology and innovation officer (CTIO), effective February 18, 2017.

Article continues below

Mr. Migliarina joined TM in May 2009, just a few months after the signing of the historic Public-Private Partnership Agreement with the Government to roll out the High Speed Broadband (HSBB) project.

In addition to his role as CTIO, Mr. Migliarina was also assigned to initiate the consolidation transformation of TM’s B2B lines of business comprising its key business units - TM Government, TM Enterprise and VADS Berhad - as Chairman of Managed Accounts (MA) cluster from 2013 to 2016.

With the departure of Mr. Migliarina, TM also announced the appointment of its new CTIO, Dato’ Rafaai Samsi who is currently the Deputy CTIO and Chief Customer Experience Officer with effect from 18 February 2017.

Mr. Samsi started his career in telecommunications with the then Jabatan Telekom Malaysia in 1978.

Mr. Samsi was later appointed CEO of TM - NTT Communications Corporation’s joint venture company in July 1997 before returning to TM in July 2001, where he was assigned as General Manager of a number of divisions including State Business Operations, Market Development and Domestic Carrier Business Division.

He was then appointed Vice President, Marketing and Sales for the Wholesale segment in October 2006 and subsequently promoted to Executive Vice President to lead the Wholesale Line of Business on 1 July 2008.

Mr. Samsi was assigned as Deputy CTIO to run the day-to-day operations and turn-around initiatives of the IT and Network Technology Division since January 2013.

He was assigned as Head of Customer Experience Management and Transformation reporting directly to TM Group CEO on 1 July 2014 and at the same time remained as the Deputy CTIO.

Mr. Samsi is also the Chairman of Service Management Council (SMC) responsible for TM’s overall customer service management.


Steppe Cement appoints Rupert Wood as director
Maybank appoints two new directors
TalentCorp appoints Shareen Shariza as new CEO
PureCircle appoints John Gibney as non-executive director
Tun Dr Mahathir resigns as chairman of PROTON

What to read next

Magyar Telekom appoints new chief officer
Deutsche Telekom CEO René Obermann to step down
Alejandro Plater appointed COO of Telekom Austria Group