POST Online Media Lite Edition


Several countries ban German poultry import over bird flu

Staff Writer |
South Africa, Japan, South Korea, Hong Kong, Bosnia and Herzegovina have put import restrictions on German poultry and poultry products.

Article continues below

The German state government of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern said that in a statement.

Eight European countries and Israel have found cases of the highly contagious H5N8 strain of bird flu in the past few weeks and some have ordered that poultry flocks be kept indoors to avoid the disease spreading.

Most outbreaks have involved wild birds, but Germany, Hungary and Austria have also reported cases in domestic duck and turkey farms where all poultry had to be culled.

More outbreaks in Europe are likely in the next few weeks as wild birds believed to transmit the virus migrate south, the deputy head of the world animal health body said.

“An impact from the current bird flu incidents in Germany and other parts of Europe were to be expected,” Mecklenburg-Vorpommern state agriculture minister Till Backhaus said in a statement.

What to read next

Temporary ban on import of poultry from EU to Russia in force
Saudi Arabia raises poultry import tax from 5% to 20%
South Korea bans imports of U.S. poultry due to bird flu