POST Online Media Lite Edition


Arrivals from Lithuania, Latvia, Finland to undergo entry restrictions entering Estonia

Christian Fernsby |
The Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs has announced that arrivals to the country from Lithuania, Latvia and Finland will go through the same entry restrictions upon arrival in Estonia, just as travellers from other European Union Member States.

Article continues below


According to a press release of the same Ministry, issued on the order of the Government of the Republic amending the entry restrictions amid COVID-19, the new changes will apply to arrivals from Lithuania, Latvia and Finland if the number of Coronavirus cases in these countries is higher than 160 per every 100,000 citizens.

Currently, the infection cases in these three countries are as follows:

Lithuania – 312.12
Latvia – 380.52
Finland – 164.53

“The restriction on freedom of movement can be shortened by two tests. People who have had COVID-19 disease or a vaccination course in the last six months are exempt from the restriction on freedom of movement and testing,” the Ministry explains.

As a result, starting from April 5, Monday, arrivals from the following countries will encounter entry restrictions upon arrival in Estonia: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Spain, the Netherlands, Croatia, Ireland, Italy, Greece, Cyprus, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Monaco, Norway, Poland, France, Sweden, Romania, Germany, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland, Switzerland, the Czech Republic and Hungary.

All travellers reaching Estonia from these countries will have to isolate for a period of ten days since the infection rate in these countries is more than 150 people per 100,000 inhabitants in the last 14 days.

However, if they want to shorten the period of quarantine, they will be able to do so by presenting the results of a PCR test taken at most 72 hours before reaching the country. The results must be negative. The travellers should then take another test on the sixth day of isolation. If it results negative again, he/she can leave quarantine.

Those who have not taken the test abroad can do so as soon as they arrive in Estonia, and then another test on the sixth day. If both are negative, they can also leave quarantine earlier.

Currently, the quarantine obligation does not apply only to Iceland, Liechtenstein, Portugal, Denmark and the United Kingdom, as the infection rate in these countries less than 150 people per 100,000 population in the last 14 days.

As per arrivals from third countries, it possible to travel to Estonia from Australia, South Korea, Rwanda, Singapore, Thailand and New Zealand without any restrictions.

“Third-country nationals who come to Estonia to work or study in an educational institution registered in Estonia from a third country not listed in Annex 1 of the Council of the European Union Recommendation and a family member working in Estonia with a visa and a family member working in a start-up or ICT field are subject to a 10-day restriction on freedom of movement, and they must be tested for coronavirus immediately after arrival in Estonia and for repetitions not earlier than on the sixth day after the first test,” the Ministry notes, while explaining that early testing does not release these travellers from the obligation of quarantine.

At the same time, the Ministry advises Estonian citizens to refrain from undertaking any trio outside the European Union countries due to the widespread COVID-19 and its mutations.

The Ministry reminds the citizens that due to the spread of the new mutations and the quickly changing situation abroad, countries are introducing measures at short notice, including changes in border crossing conditions, tests and testing requirements.

What to read next

Estonia exempts arrivals from 8 countries from entry restrictions
Finland prolongs existing entry restrictions for another month
Baltic states to create 'travel bubble'