POST Online Media Lite Edition


Cyprus to allow restriction-free entry for arrivals from Iceland, Slovakia moves to red category

Christian Fernsby |
The authorities of Cyprus announced changes on the list of COVID-19 affected countries in line with the decision of the Council of Ministers, which will take effect on May 20.

Article continues below


Based on Cyprus’ Government announcement, the new changes establish that travellers from Iceland will no longer be subject to testing and the requirement to provide a negative Coronavirus test result or self-isolate as Iceland will move from the orange category to the green one.

On the other hand, travellers from Slovakia will be required to undergo two COVID-19 tests, one before and another after their arrival in Cyprus, as well as stay self-isolated since the country will move from the orange category, where it was positioned on the previous announcement, to the red one.

“The following categorization of countries, based on the epidemiological risk assessment, is extremely dynamic and may be modified at any moment as the pandemic evolves and the epidemiological data changes. For this reason, new data will be announced, and the list of countries will be updated frequently,” the Government’s press release notes.

In accordance with the figures provided by ECDC, Cyprus classifies countries into four different categories, green, orange, red, and grey, reports.

The green category, which represents countries with a low risk of Coronavirus infection, currently includes Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Saudi Arabia, South Korea and Israel. All arrivals from this category are exempt from all the entry requirements.

In contrast, travellers entering Cyprus from a country placed in the orange category must submit a negative COVID-19 test not older than 72 hours.

The orange category includes the following countries:

European Union Member States: Portugal, Ireland, Finland, Malta

Schengen Area countries: Norway

Third countries: China (including Macau and Hong Kong), the United Kingdom, Thailand

As for the arrivals from countries placed on the red category, Cyprus has imposed stricter entry restrictions. All travellers are required to undergo COVID-19 testing 72 hours before entering Cyprus and a second after they enter the country.

The red category currently includes the following countries:

European Union Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Italy, Greece, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Denmark, Slovenia, Czechia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Sweden, Germany, Slovakia

Microstates: Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, San Marino

Schengen Area countries: Switzerland and Liechtenstein

Third countries: Rwanda, Russia, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, Serbia, United States of America, Armenia, Georgia, Bahrain

When it comes to the countries that were not listed in any of the categories above, they are all included in the grey category.

What to read next

Greece condemns Turkey's decision to conduct drilling in Cyprus' exclusive economic zone
FTA with China makes Iceland more attractive
Arrivals from Lithuania, Latvia, Finland to undergo entry restrictions entering Estonia