POST Online Media Lite Edition


Five countries removed from UK's coronavirus quarantine list

Christian Fernsby |
Travellers arriving in England from Israel, Uruguay, Namibia, Rwanda and Sri Lanka will no longer have to self-isolate, a senior British official announced Thursday.

Article continues below

Those arriving in England from Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the Northern Mariana Islands will also not have to isolate for 14 days, British Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said, adding that the changes take effect from Saturday.

No countries are being added to the quarantine list this week, Shapps said on Twitter.

Despite the change in the policy, the visitors arriving in England will still have to follow lockdown rules, which will last until Dec. 2.

England is currently under a month-long national lockdown, the second of its kind since the coronavirus outbreak in Britain, in a bid to quell the resurgence of coronavirus.

Another 22,915 people in Britain have tested positive for coronavirus, bringing the total number of coronavirus cases in the country to 1,453,256, according to official figures released Thursday.

The coronavirus-related deaths in Britain rose by 501 to 53,775, the data showed.

What to read next

Ukraine removes Estonia, Latvia, Georgia, Malta, Hungary from list of risky countries
Illinois announces $16.6 million investment to help connect residents with 1,300 positions
Lithuania removes 21 countries from its list of coronavirus high risk countries